They gain access to a project when you check the access box.
Contacts added to the environment will only have access once you grant it to them. To do this, check the "Access to the platform" option in the project settings.
To learn how to add and manage contacts related to an ongoing project, refer to this article.
Useful Tips : You can revoke their access at any time by unchecking the access boxes.